Macon County Info

Macon County Elected Officials

Board of Commissioners

Macon County Commissioners generally meet on the 2nd Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m.

Commission Boardroom
3rd floor of Macon County Courthouse
5 West Main St.,
Franklin, NC 28734

Meetings are open to the public.

Click Here    to Go to Macon County web site

Click here     to watch county commission meetings on youtube
District i
John Shearl (R)
28741(828) 342-6289

John Shearl was elected in November 2022.

I am married to Lila Munger Shearl. We have three sons Allen, Michael, and Jared, two daughters-in-law Sarah Kimsey Shearl and Jenna Jasinski Shearl, and four grandchildren Cameron, Weston, Ruby, and Peyton.

I am a graduate of Franklin High School, an N.C. Licensed Contractor, and founder of Shearl Produce, Inc. in Otto, North Carolina. I am also, a retired Highlands Firefighter and Medical Responder, former Macon County Planning Board member, former Highlands High School baseball coach, and recipient of the Highlands High School "Service to the School Award."

I look forward to serving the people of Macon County. "In God We Trust."

District II
Danny Antoine (R)

(828) 332-0418

Josh Young (R)
263 Red Rock Road
Franklin, NC 28735
(828) 421-0967 Office

Gary ShiElds (R)
62 LAUREN LANEFRANKLIN, NC 28734(828) 369-3919

My name is Gary Shields and having been elected as a Macon County Commissioner on November 4, 2014, 
I say "thank you" for this opportunity to serve.

I graduated from Waynesville Township High School in June 1966. In October 1966, I entered the United States Army
. After completing my tenure in June 1969 and serving two tours of duty in Vietnam, I entered Gardner Webb College
 (University) in August 1969 and graduated in May 1973. I was employed in the Kings Mountain School District for eigh
t years as a teacher and school administrator.

During the evenings, I completed my Master's Degree in School Administration from the University of North 
Carolina-Charlotte and when I moved back home to Franklin in the Fall of 1981, I was employed in the 
Macon County School System as a teacher/counselor and school administrator.

Again, I enrolled in evening classes attending Western Carolina University and earned a Master of Arts 
degree in Guidance and Counseling.

In June 2010, I retired after serving 37 years in education with 29 of those years serving in the Macon County School
 System and my last 21 years as principal of Franklin High School. In November 2010, I earned, via the voters of
 Macon County, a seat on the Macon County Board of Education. I continue to serve the Franklin community by 
serving as a member of numerous boards: Southwestern Community College Board of Trustees, Angel Medical 
Center Foundation, KIDS PLACE, Franklin Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Development Commission.

Macon County has numerous civic organizations of high quality and I had the opportunity to join the "noon-day" 
Rotary where the Rotary motto is "Service Above Self". I believe and hope to continue to serve our county and 
"Civic Responsibility" is of the utmost importance.

Paul Higdon (R) Chariman
5650 Upper Burningtown Road
Franklin, NC 28734
(828) 369-5048

Paul Higdon graduated from Franklin High School in 1967, 
spent two years as a medic in the US Army, married his high school sweetheart, Linda Stanley, 
moved to Little Rock, AR for 13 years and graduated from the University of Arkansas at Little Rock 
with degrees in Environmental Health Science and Biology. He moved back to Franklin in 1986, 
and the couple had their first child, Justin, while they were building their home on his great-grandfather's 
farm on Upper Burningtown. He worked for 10 years at the Macon County Health Department as an inspector 
and Environmental Health Supervisor, and the couple had their second child, Lauren. For the past 17 years, 
he has been self-employed in the family business, Sewer Solutions, Inc., and he is also a partner in Reuse Innovations, Inc.
Both companies deal with wastewater development and construction. His hobbies include wood turning, beekeeping, 
gardening and spending time with family. Mr. Higdon said the reason he ran for political office was to have a stronger 
voice in the future of our county "as I believe excessive spending and growth of government at all levels needs to be challenged."


Brent Holbrooks  (R)

Clerk of Superior Court

Shawna Thun Lamb (R)

Register of Deeds

Todd Raby (D)

School Board (non-partisan)

Jim Breedlove, ChairmaN
Melissa Evans, Vice-Chairman
Diedre Breeden, Member
Stephanie Laseter, Member
Hilary Wilkes, Member